If you are arrested for your second DUI in Riverside, you are facing a range of penalties from both the criminal court and the California Department of Motor Vehicles. Not only do you face jail time, probation and fines, you also could lose your driving privileges and be required to take a drug or alcohol class before you can reinstate your license.
This article discusses the potential penalties you face for a second DUI and how an experienced Riverside DUI lawyer from Wallin & Klarich may be able to help you.
Does it Matter When I Was Convicted of the First DUI?
California DUI laws state that your first DUI remains a prior conviction on your record until 10 years have passed since your first DUI offense. This means if your first DUI is more than 10 years old, the court will not consider it a prior conviction against you in future proceedings.
Penalties for a Second DUI
The penalties for a second DUI vary based on the facts of your case. Riverside County courts take second-offense DUI matters very seriously, and the penalties for a second DUI are harsher than the penalties for your first DUI offense.
A first-time misdemeanor DUI conviction carries a sentence of up to six months in jail and a driver’s license suspension of up to six months.
A second-offense misdemeanor DUI conviction carries a sentence of up to 364 days in jail and up to a two-year suspension of your driving privileges. Additionally, a second DUI conviction in Riverside is punishable by up to 30 months of DUI school, which costs significantly more time and money than the nine months of DUI school required for a first-time DUI conviction.
Fines and Fees for a Second DUI in Riverside
In addition to jail time, you could be fined up to $1,000 for a second offense DUI in Riverside. This penalty will be much more expensive when factoring in penalty assessments.
You will also face increased insurance premiums, towing and impound fees and the cost of rehabilitation classes.
Can You Get Your License Reinstated after a Second DUI?
If you were convicted of a second DUI within 10 years in Riverside, your driver’s license could be suspended for up to two years. However, an experienced Riverside DUI lawyer may be able to petition the court to have your license reinstated after one year. This option may only be available to you if you agree to have an Interlock Ignition Device (IID) installed in your vehicle. This device requires you to take a breath test with a result under the legal BAC limit of 0.08% before your car will start.
Legal Defenses to a Second DUI in Riverside
There are many technical legal defenses an experienced Riverside DUI attorney may be able to use to protect your rights. Those valid legal defenses include:
You were not intoxicated
You were not operating a vehicle
You were not driving in an impaired fashion
The police did not follow proper legal protocol when pulling you over, arresting you or collecting evidence
Speak to one of our experienced Riverside DUI lawyers at Wallin & Klarich today so we can determine if any of these legal defenses may apply in your case.
Contact a Skilled Riverside DUI Defense Attorney at Wallin & Klarich Today
If you or someone you know is facing charges for a second DUI offense in Riverside, you should contact our experienced Riverside DUI lawyers at Wallin & Klarich. Our skilled DUI lawyers have been successfully defending clients in Riverside County courts for more than 40+ years. Let us help you now.
Our office is located just a short walk away from the Riverside Courthouse, so our skilled attorneys are familiar with the local judges, clerks, staff and procedures in the court.
Call our law firm today at (877) 466-5245 for help with your DUI case in Riverside. We will be there when you call.