July 10, 2022 By Wallin & Klarich

String of Commercial and Residential Burglaries in Riverside 

A string of burglaries has shed light on a growing problem across Riverside County. In 2022 alone, there have been over 6,000 burglaries in the county, both commercial and residential. Recently this month, three restaurants in a Moreno Valley shopping center were burglarized on the same day, putting business owners and authorities on high alert. The burglaries happened early in the morning within minutes of each other, leaving doors and windows shattered during the break-ins. 

One of the restaurants, Burger Im, was forced to close after the burglary. Over $10,000 in cash was taken, and the restaurant lost even more in damages. According to the franchise owner, this burglary was the restaurant’s fourth break-in of this year. Surveillance video showed two masked men breaking into the businesses with a crowbar on a hunt for cash. The men were gone before deputies arrived on the scene. 

Nearby, a residential home was burglarized about 20 minutes after the restaurant break-ins. The thieves stole a lockbox filled with jewelry and a weapon, but were scared off by the homeowner, who fired a gun at the intruders. The home and restaurant burglaries do not appear to be related, but show a continuing trend of growth in crime in Riverside County. 

Penalties for Burglary in California 

The crime of burglary is taken very seriously by the courts of Riverside County. Judges in the local courts are strict on the penalties regarding this crime, and you may be facing harsh consequences if you are convicted. 

In order to prosecute you for burglary under California Penal Code Section 459, the prosecution must prove the following elements: 

  • The defendant entered a building, room, locked vehicle, or structure 
  • The defendant intended to commit a felony or a theft 
  • The value of the property that the defendant stole or intended to steal was over $950; OR the structure that the defendant entered was not a commercial establishment; OR the defendant entered a commercial establishment outside of business hours 

Depending on the circumstances of your case, burglary in California can be classified as first or second degree. First degree is burglary of a residential structure like a home, while second degree is burglary of any other type of structure such as stores or businesses. Burglary in the first degree is charged as a felony with high penalties. If you are convicted of first degree burglary in Riverside, you may face: 

  • Up to $10,000 in fines 
  • 2, 4, or 6 years in state prison  
  • Felony probation 

Additionally, a first degree burglary conviction counts as a strike under California’s Three Strikes Law. Second degree burglary, on the other hand, is a wobbler, meaning it can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor. For felony charges, second degree burglary is punishable by: 

  • Up to $10,000 in fines 
  • 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years in county jail 
  • Felony probation 

For a misdemeanor, second degree burglary is punishable by: 

  • Up to $1,000 in fines 
  • Up to 1 year in county jail 
  • Summary probation 

With the recent rise in burglaries in Riverside County, judges are cracking down, and the penalties for a conviction may be especially harsh. If you are arrested for burglary, contact our attorneys at Wallin & Klarich immediately to avoid prosecution and jail time.

Contact Wallin & Klarich Today 

Burglary is a serious crime in Riverside with hefty fines and jail sentences. If you are accused of this crime, contact our attorneys at Wallin & Klarich as soon as possible to see how we can help. With 40+ years of experience, Wallin & Klarich is your best choice amongst Southern California criminal defense firms. Our attorneys have helped thousands of clients in a wide range of burglary cases, and we have the skills and resources to secure the best outcome for you. 

With offices in Orange County, Riverside, San Bernardino, Victorville, Torrance, West Covina, Los Angeles, and San Diego, you are sure to find an available and convenient attorney near you. 

Discover how our team can assist you. Contact us today, toll-free at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245 for a free consultation with a skilled defense attorney.

Confidential Consult
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

SCHEDULE YOUR free consultation

If you or a loved one have been accused of a crime, this is the time to contact us.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.