Riverside Instructors Accused of Sexual Abuse
In the past few weeks, two Riverside County instructors have been arrested for alleged sexual abuse of minors under their tutelage. The first is 47-year-old Quincy John Jacinto, a dance teacher who was accused by his former student of sexual abuse for multiple years while she was still a minor. The alleged abuse lasted until 2020, and much of it occurred at the dance studio, Riverside Dance Academy. Jacinto is facing charges for lewd acts with a minor, sexual penetration of a minor, and oral copulation with a minor, all three of which are felony charges.
Another Riverside man, 41-year-old Jamien Nicholas Lovell Jackson, was also arrested last week by officers from the Riverside Police Department’s Sexual Assault – Child Abuse Unit. Jackson worked as a youth basketball coach for several years and is accused of sexually abusing one of his female juvenile players in the girl’s traveling basketball team. He is now facing charges for lewd acts with a minor, child annoyance, and sending harmful matter to a minor.
Unfortunately, Jacinto and Jackson are only two of multiple sexual abuse cases involving minors to have been investigated by Riverside County law enforcement officers in recent months. Reports of coach and teacher sexual abuse have been on the rise both in the county and across the nation. As such, it is important to understand the legal ramifications of such crimes.
Lewd Acts with a Minor Laws
Lewd acts with a minor, more commonly known as “child molestation,” refers to inappropriate sexual conduct with a child under the age of 14. Child molestation is an extremely grave offense with both legal and personal consequences. Under California Penal Code Section 288(a), the prosecution must prove the following elements in order to convict you for lewd acts with a minor:
- You willfully and lewdly touched a child’s body, or caused the child to touch his/her own body or someone else’s body;
- You had the intent of arousing, appealing to, or gratifying the sexual desires of yourself or the child; and
- The child was under the age of 14 at the time of the offense.
In California, sex crimes against children are taken very seriously, so lewd acts with a minor are generally prosecuted as felony offenses. If you are found guilty of committing lewd acts with a child under the age of 14, the penalties include:
- Up to $10,000 in fines
- 3, 6, or 8 years in state prison
- Registration in the Sex Offender Registry for life
However, additional charges under Section 288(a) hold harsher penalties. If you are convicted of more than one charge of lewd acts with a minor, you could be facing life in prison. A conviction for lewd acts with a child is also considered a “strike” under Penal Code Section 667, otherwise known as California’s Three Strikes law. If you have two prior strikes on your record from any violent crimes, you could be sentenced to 25 years to life in prison for the third strike. Moreover, you may face harsher penalties for using force or violence, or threatening to do so, in committing the lewd acts.
Contact Wallin & Klarich Today
If you are convicted of lewd acts with a minor, your reputation and future may be on the line. A charge for this offense could result in fines, jail time, sex offender registration, and serious personal consequences. As such, it is crucial that you contact our skilled defense attorneys at Wallin & Klarich as soon as possible if you’ve been accused of child molestation. With 40+ years of experience, Wallin & Klarich is the greatest choice amongst Southern California criminal defense firms. Our attorneys have helped thousands of clients in a wide range of sex-related crimes, and we have the skills and resources to secure the best outcome for you. You can place your trust in us.
With offices in Orange County, Riverside, San Bernardino, Victorville, Torrance, West Covina, Los Angeles, and San Diego, you are sure to find an available and convenient attorney near you.
Discover how our team can assist you. Contact us today, toll-free at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245 for a free consultation with a skilled defense attorney.